Q: Your opinion wanted: "AS SEEN ON TV" products- do you love them, buy them, use them?

MdavidK30
100
Would you buy something you saw which is only sold from calling a hotline on a TV half hour commercial?

These days, they have in Target, Walmart, and other big brand stores all of those AS SEEN ON TV products for a bit cheaper than what they have on TV. -Would you purchase if you had seen the ad on TV, just not looked at the product in person?

Would you purchase it as if it were any other product out there- and not just because you actually got to see what it does!?

Also, on TV, of course they have so many items they can cook with and the accessibility- what would you use the item for? Simple things? Would you try everything that it was made out to be on TV?

I'd like to hear your opinion.

 I have bought a few things from those AS SEEN ON TV products, and have so far been very satisfied with all of them. But, I would never purchase it with my credit card on their TV hotline... I would wait until I've seen it in the store first.
MdavidK30 posted Sep 23, 2012
206 views
Facebook Share
Twitter
12 Comments
Acidbaby
Never
Acidbaby (rep: 6.83k) posted Sep 23, 2012
00
MdavidK30
Why not, Acid?
MdavidK30 (rep: 3.56k) posted Sep 23, 2012
00
Acidbaby
Because about 98% of the time they dont work and cost pennies to make. The distributors of these items also make most of their money on the shipping charges for these items. Ever notice where they say WOW ACT NOW AND GET 2 Sets instead of ONE. Small print says *just pay extra shipping and handling. Sorry dude but this stuff is a scam.
Acidbaby (rep: 6.83k) posted Sep 23, 2012
00
MdavidK30
Yes, but what if you buy them in store? Without the shipping costs or those extra -buy 2 save now - gimmicks?
MdavidK30 (rep: 3.56k) posted Sep 23, 2012
00
Acidbaby
In my opinion. Ive never seen one that works like they show it. And I know people who buy this garbage all the time and then complain it doesnt work.
Acidbaby (rep: 6.83k) posted Sep 23, 2012
10
encorez
Ditto on the never....
encorez (rep: 9.96k) posted Sep 23, 2012
00
MdavidK30
I have bought one- and it seems to work very well. Of course, you're not always going to be able to cook and prepare the things they show on TV, I mean- they have access to a lot of them at one time, and all the food prep that is needed for that. They don't mind wasting the food either. Obviously, you'll make enough for what you need and have.
MdavidK30 (rep: 3.56k) posted Sep 23, 2012
00
Vinkoniggma
Certain shopping malls have ASOTV stores. I go to those to test/play with products and gadgets.
Vinkoniggma (rep: 66) posted Sep 23, 2012
10
nthsll
They do a "does it work?" segment at our local TV station. Mixed lot, but I would have to say at least half don't work...not at least as well as advertised.

http://www.kltv.com/Global/category.asp?C=83056

Short answer, no.
nthsll (rep: 12.4k) posted Sep 24, 2012
10
MdavidK30
Of course... because they have so many to use and they know all the right ways to use it, nthsll- half the time, the people that buy don't really know how to use it. I'm going to grill some chicken tonight on it, and see how it pans out.
MdavidK30 (rep: 3.56k) posted Sep 24, 2012
00
jpanddanielle
I bought Mighty Putty from Target and used it to repair a built in tile dish that broke off years ago, and the mend site is barely noticeable. Much better than jagged ceramic points sticking out of the wall.
They used to sell a hair clip that I was interested in and I found one at a local artisan fair, and so I bought that one. I still have it years later and it still works great, even with my thick hair!
jpanddanielle (rep: 96) posted Sep 24, 2012
10
fluffy
I bought something hawked via an infomercial only once, but only after I found out online that it wasn't the scam it sounded like. It was the MagicJack phone gizmo. I've had it for over 4 years as my main home phone, and it still works great.
fluffy (rep: 2.17k) posted Sep 25, 2012
00